Skip To The Main Content

Universal Paid Leave Act - Legislative Action Request

The proposed act would provide 8 weeks paid leave for family care such as a sick child or parent, and 11 weeks paid parental leave. The wage replacement rate will be 90% for the lowest paid workers (earning below 150% of the minimum wage). For everyone else, the benefit is capped at $1,000 per week. The benefits will be funded entirely by a new 0.62% payroll tax on employers.

Universal Paid Leave Act - Legislative Action Request

Contact D.C. City Council and Mayor by Tuesday, December 6

by Eugene T. Giannini, DDS 

Many of you have been following the recent DC City Council actions on the Universal Paid Leave Act. The DCDS has made its position known to members of the City Council during the process that we opposing the act and its payroll tax on employers.

The proposed act would provide 8 weeks paid leave for family care such as a sick child or parent, and 11 weeks paid parental leave. The wage replacement rate will be 90% for the lowest paid workers (earning below 150% of the minimum wage). For everyone else, the benefit is capped at $1,000 per week.

The benefits will be funded entirely by a new 0.62% payroll tax on employers.

The current version will be going before the Council next week. It is imperative that we as dentists and small business owners make our voices known to our respective DC Council member no later than TUESDAY, DECEMBER 6th.

 Some issues with the proposed legislation:

  • There is a disparity in that private employers will  have to provide 11 weeks of leave but the District government only provides its employees 8 weeks of leave. 
  • In the California paid leave bill there is a provision that allows only the primary caregiver to take leave, per qualifying event, for a family member. In the DC bill any and all can take leave to care for the same individual.
  • There is no cap on the tax paid by employers even though there is a cap on benefits.
  • There is no provision that suggests that this benefit should be a benefit of last resort meaning the employee should have to exhaust sick and safe and other benefits first.

The councilmembers need to hear directly from DC employers who will be affected.  Key points to include in your correspondence and contact information for the Mayor and Councilmembers is below.

  • Identify yourself:
    • Where you live (address, neighborhood, and/or ward)
    • How long you've lived in DC
    • The kind of work you do and number of years and employees (e.g. I have a dental practice at 'XYZ' in 'Ward #)
  • Introduce the issue:
    • Now is the time to lead on paid leave. While I support the idea of paid leave, I am asking you to vote No on bill B21-415, Universal Paid Leave Act of 2015.
    • Explain why

​A drafted letter for Councilmembers can be found here

Councilmembers’ and Mayor’s Contact Information

Mayor Bowser

eom@dc.gov
(202) 727-2643

Chairman Phil Mendelson
pmendelson@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8032 
Anita Bonds
At-Large

abonds@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8064 
David Grosso
At-Large

dgrosso@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8105
Elissa Silverman
At-Large

esilverman@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-7772
Robert White
At-Large

rwhite@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8174
Brianne Nadeau 
Ward 1

bnadeau@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8181 
Jack Evans 
Ward 2

jevans@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8058
Mary M. Cheh
Ward 3

mcheh@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8062
Brandon Todd
Ward 4

btodd@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8052
Kenyan McDuffie
Ward 5

kmcduffie@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8028
Charles Allen
Ward 6

callen@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8072
Yvette Alexander
Ward 7

yalexander@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8068
LaRuby May
Ward 8

LMay@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8045
 
"State":"DC"